Girlskill Power Tools

Top 40 Apps, Podcasts, Books & People to Follow for Career & Business

July 5, 2018

#66 | The Modern Mogul: Breaking Out of the One-track Mindset with Marlyne Pierce

About This Episode

We are constantly thinking about what we can do to get paid more, who we should talk to to get that promotion, what project we should start to get noticed by the right people. For this week’s guest, breaking out of that one-track mindset was the best decision she could have made.

“I let go of the trappings, of what other people thought and what success was supposed to look like.”

Marlyne Pierce is a product and profitability strategist, the founder and host of the Modern Mogul website and podcast, a mother, and a certified yoga instructor. She has been fueled by a ferocious drive to succeed since she was young, and that drive has led her to share her experiences with the world through her podcast. Marlyne combines yogi values with business practices, looks at every problem with a new set of eyes, and refuses to be labeled by anyone.

“Keep going for what you want and don’t let anyone label you.”

Marlyne immigrated to the United States from Jamaica when she was a teenager. After working her way through high school and college (she graduated Summa Cum Laude, of course), Marlyne began to work in the corporate world, where she quickly learned that there were many lessons that school didn’t teach her. After years of fighting to get ahead, she eventually burned out and went to California to become a yoga instructor. She learned that in order to succeed, she needed to remember not to sacrifice who she was.

“As high-achieving women, we put a lot of pressure on ourselves to meet certain standards that sometimes are real, but sometimes are not.”

Join us for an honest conversation about ambition, learning from experience, and standing up for yourself and your values. Marlyne will share her journey from a burned-out corporate strategist to a balanced, happy woman well on her way to becoming a modern mogul.

“A modern mogul is someone who is achieving success in an unconventional way, who is focused on not only making money, but making a difference.”

Links

Modern Mogul HQ

Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook

Tools & Resources Mentioned

Apps

  • Google Calendar – Google Calendar is a time-management and scheduling calendar service developed by Google. With Google’s free online calendar, it’s easy to keep track of life’s important events all in one place.
  • Trello – Trello’s boards, lists, and cards enable you to organize and prioritize your projects in a fun, flexible and rewarding way.

People/Blogs to Follow

  • Hay House – Hay House was founded in 1984 by Louise Hay as a way to self-publish her first two books, Heal Your Body and You Can Heal Your Life, both of which became international bestsellers (You Can Heal Your Life has sold more than 35 million copies worldwide) and established Louise as a leader in the transformational movement. Today, Hay House is committed to delivering products and services that empower and educate the individual, while helping to heal our planet.
  • Christiane Northrup – Christiane Northrup, M.D., is a visionary pioneer and a leading authority in the field of women’s health and wellness, which includes the unity of mind, body, emotions, and spirit. Internationally known for her empowering approach to women’s health and wellness, Dr. Northrup teaches women how to thrive at every stage of life.
  • Wayne Dyer – Wayne Dyer was an internationally renowned author and speaker in the fields of self-development and spiritual growth. Over the four decades of his career, he wrote more than 40 books, including 21 New York Times bestsellers. He created many audio and video programs and appeared on thousands of television and radio shows.
  • James Altucher– James Altucher is an American hedge fund manager, entrepreneur, best-selling author, venture capitalist, and podcaster. He has founded or co-founded more than 20 companies, including Reset Inc. and StockPickr, and says he failed at 17 of them.

Recommended Books

  • The Big Leap by Gay Hendricks – In The Big Leap, Gay Hendricks, the New York Times bestselling author of Five Wishes, demonstrates how to eliminate the barriers to success by overcoming false fears and beliefs. Fans of Wayne Dyer, Eckhart Tolle, Marianne Williamson, and The Secret will find useful, effective tips for breaking down the walls to a better life in The Big Leap.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This